Research Project - The Rabbit Hole

I’ve always loved reading book summaries.

Even if the summary of a book emphasized things that were different from what I thought was important when I read it, I still love seeing someone else’s perspective. 

So I’m always thankful of the virtuous people that freely share their book summaries online – and one of the best that I’ve found at it is Blas Moros, who publishes on his site blas.com. I could never read as many books as Blas has. Just as impressive, he seems to always capture the "most important" and wisdom-packed parts of a book; put succinctly - he don't miss much.

Five years ago, I had a lot of free time and wanted to learn as much as I could, so I decided to create a system that would help me digest this mountain of highlighted information. On 2/14/19:

  • I went through all the books that Blas had reviewed up until that point

  • Downloaded PDFs of each of their highlights separately

  • Merged 125 PDFs together into a single, mega-highlight PDF

  • It can be found here: Link


125 PDFs of densely packed information is A LOT. To go one step further, I decided to find my highlights of his highlights. To create what I called Hi^2 (hi-squared), I read the mega-PDF on my Kindle and exported those Kindle highlights to Google Docs:
  • Can be found here: Link
  • It's from 5/31/19
  • I’m sure there is some Blas-induced bias in the original highlights, just like I'm sure that there’s Cory-bias in my Hi^2
  • The hashtags here is me trying to organize the highlights of highlights better into topics

I would normally stop there since that's more enough to organize and ultimately understand; yet in this case, I still had over 100 pages of information! So I decided to dive a little deeper:

  • Made a Hi^3 version (highlights of highlights of highlights) which groups them by book then by tagged topic

    • Can be found here: Link

    • It's from 6/4/19 and is 81 pages long

    • The tags here are more specific and tried to be more accurate within each book for each Hi^3 (but still has some errors obviously)

  • Made a Hi^4 version (you get the picture) which groups the highlights by tagged topic across books

    • Can be found here: Link

    • It's from 6/5/19 and is 79 pages long

    • The network graph at the top is what I used to decide the story, as these meta topics ended up being the “most important” (central) when graphed, as evidenced by their bubble size and text size

      • For the graph, the nodes are topics and the connections are highlights of the same topic within the same book (Node A (highlight topic A) and Node B (highlight topic B) are connected by connection C (are in the same book C) - not a perfect reason but a way to connect topics (nodes) across books (connections)

      • You can kind of see the shape of the story in the How 3 (EQ, character, and leadership) - What 2 (learning and lifehacks) - How 1 (simplicity) - Why 1 (love)

    • Influenced by Simon Sinek’s “Why-How-What” framework, I made a variation that starts and ends with why – why 5, how 3, what 2, how 1, why 1

      • 1, 1, 2, 3, 5... Fibonacci-hive assemble!

    • Finally I made a Hi^5 version but IMO it was a step too far and I should’ve just stopped at the highlights grouped by tagged topic (the Hi^3 version)

      • Not sharing it, as there was nothing really new

      • It's from 12/2/20 and is 85 pages long

      • Gets too lost in the thick of things

    …and that's mostly where the research stopped.

    In the end, I didn’t do much with all that glorious highlighted information. Yeah I revisited the Hi^4 version a couple of times and shared it with Blas (he thought it was cool), but I didn't do much else with it. I do love the network graph of the topics and have looked at it a bunch of random times – I find it beautiful.

    Recently, I asked Blas if he minded if I shared the project with others, provided he is fine with it. At the very least, I feel like I learned a ton from the research project and hope others can as well.

    Have fun getting lost in The Rabbit Hole.