On the Algorithmic Purgatory of Being a Reply Guy

[The following was copied and pasted from GPT-4o after I gave it the transcription of a 1 minute ramble I had on my morning walk and asked it to turn it into a 300 word blog post]


On Twitter, I’ve noticed that my replies get far more likes and views than my original tweets. It feels like I’m stuck in "algorithmic purgatory," where the system pushes me to react to others instead of sharing my own ideas.

Twitter seems to value engagement over creativity. My replies always outperform my original thoughts, which makes me feel like Twitter encourages reacting rather than creating. This has led me to reply more, even though I don’t want to become just another "reply guy."

The platform keeps me hooked by making fast replies more visible. The quicker I respond, the more attention I get. But this also stops me from thinking up and sharing original ideas. Twitter should be a place for creativity, but the algorithm only seems to care if people engage with my replies, not my original content.

This system has made me more reactive. Instead of creating, I feel pushed to respond to whatever’s popular. It’s frustrating because I want to share new ideas, but replies are what get noticed.

Even though I’m aware of this, it’s hard to change. Like many, I adapt to the environment I’m in, and Twitter’s setup makes it hard not to reply constantly. I feel stuck in this loop—wanting to create but being drawn into reacting instead.